Mid-America News - OCTOBER 2018




Missouri Town 1855 Fall Fest coming up

Folk music and dancing are part of the fun at the Missouri Town 1855 Festival of Arts, Crafts and Music. (photo courtesy Jackson County Parks and Recreation)

The 43rd Annual Festival of Arts, Crafts and Music will be held at Missouri Town 1855 Oct. 6-7. Discover why this popular annual fall event has been a family tradition for thousands over 40 years. Skilled interpreters, crafters and artisans will bring this antebellum living history site to life with period music, dance, games, crafts, a fun-filled hay wagon ride, and delicious foods.

Missouri Town 1855 comprises more than 25 buildings dating from 1820 – 1860. This living history museum uses original structures, furnishings and equipment. Also depicting the 19th century lifestyles are interpreters in period attire, authentic field and garden crops, and rare livestock breeds. Pets are not permitted inside the village.

Missouri Town 1855 is located at 8010 E. Park Rd. in Fleming Park, Lee's Summit. Admission is $10 per car or van. Events begin at 10 a.m. on Saturday and at 11 a.m. on Sunday. For more information call 816-229-8980.



Festival celebrates Versailles' apple tradition

The action centers around the Morgan County Courthouse during the Olde Tyme Apple Festival in Versailles. (photo courtesy Versailles Chamber of Commerce)

The 2018 Versailles Olde Tyme Apple Festival will return to town on Saturday, Oct. 6. The event has been part of the Versailles community since 1980 and commemorates the time that the Head Orchard was a 400-acre active apple orchard located just south of Versailles.  

The orchard produced around 45,000 bushels of apples each year depending on the weather conditions.  A good year could produce up to 60,000 bushels of apples. While the orchard is gone, it left behind a great tradition for the Versailles area that the Versailles Olde Tyme Apple Festival™ helps to celebrate each year.

Activities include a 5K run/walk, parade, pancake breakfast, car show, quilt show, fiddler's contest and live music including the Finley River Boys and Sonshine Road. "Suessical the Musical" will be peformed each day at the Royal Theater.

For the complete schedule go to the website, vwww.versaillesapplefestival.com.



'Visions of the Flint Hills' marks 10 years at Buttonwood Art Space

The painting "Sunrise Near Alma" by Cris Chapin was sold at last year's Visions of the Flint Hills. Look for more beginning Oct. 5 at the Buttonwood Art Space. (photo courtesy Buttonwood Art Space)

Buttonwood Art Space and Friends of Konza Prairie are again partnering for the 10th annual Visions of the Flint Hills Art Show and Benefit. The exhibition opening will be held on Friday, Oct. 5, 6 p.m.-9 p.m., at Buttonwood Art Space, 3013 Main St., Kansas City. This exhibition features 163 original works of art by 94 different artists throughout the United States, all derived from and inspired by the Flint Hills region of Kansas. The Visions of the Flint Hills Benefit and Sale will run from Oct. 5 through Nov. 16.

Covering over four million acres, the Flint Hills, holds the largest expanse of intact tallgrass prairie in the nation and offers the best opportunity to study, preserve and celebrate this unique ecosystem. Characterized by limestone and flint, this 50 mile-wide strip stretching 300 miles from Nebraska to Oklahoma, is the priceless remnant of 142 million acres of prairie that once covered the United States.

Live music will be performed by "Kaw Creek", a two-piece band featuring Alice Boyle and Rob Rosenburg. Meet participating artists, enjoy Flint Hills themed food, beverages and live music at the opening reception, 6 -9 p.m. Gallery hours are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m., or by appointment, 816-285-9040.

The exhibit is held in conjunction with KC Crossroads Oct. 5 First Friday Art Walk.



Hyde Park Homes Tour highlights eight houses

The Italian Revival house at 7 Janssen Place is featured on the Hyde Park Homes Tour. (photo courtesy HPNA)

Eight historic homes, including three by noted architect John W. McKecknie, will open their doors for tours during the biennial Hyde Park Historic Homes Tour. The tour hosted by the Hyde Park Neighborhood Association (HPNA) will be held Saturday, Oct. 6, 10 a.m.-6 p.m., and a candlelight tour of a Chicago-style influenced Italian Renaissance home on Janssen Place will be held on Friday, Oct. 5, 6-10 p.m.

The biennial tour showcases the architectural diversity and unique character of historic Hyde Park, which is nestled in the heart of midtown Kansas City. Saturday's tour homes include:

• 7 Janssen Place, an Italian Revival style home built in 1909, designed by Kansas City Architect John W. McKecknie
• 3900 Holmes, a 2 ½-story Colonial Revival home built in 1909, designed by John W. McKecknie
• 717 Manheim, a 2 ½-story Colonial Revival built in 1908, designed by architect E.P. Madorle
• 3827 Harrison, a Craftsman style home built in 1911, designed by architect Edgar P. Madorie
• 3820 Campbell, a Tudor Revival, designed by architect S.R. Frink built in 1908
• 3530 Harrison, a 2 ½-story stone house designed by Frederick C. Gunn and built in 1911
• 3653 Charlotte was built in 1908 and designed by John W. McKecknie

Climate-controlled shuttle buses transport visitors to each stop on the Saturday tour. The Saturday tour also includes food and beverage trucks. For further details, and to purchase tour tickets, priced from $13 to $60, visit www.HydeParkTour.com.



Lexington to stage 'Spirit of the Civil War'

An all-day observation of Lexington's Civil War heritage will be held Oct. 27 at various venues around town. (Illustration courtesy Lexington Tourism Commission)

A unique living history event, Spirit of the Civil War will be held in Lexington on Oct. 27. Spend the day immersed in Lexington's Civil War heritage with presentations that recount the march of troops through town, the siege of the historic Anderson House, a ladies' tea and fashion show, speeches on the courthouse steps and open encampments. In the evening, the Anderson House transforms into a hospital to bring the haunting stories of days past to life once more. Lanterns light the way on this guided tour. Transportation via Lexington's new trolley is available.

"Visitors will gain an experience of a lifetime and a glimpse of the days of the Civil War," said Catherine Arnoldi Smith of the Lexington Tourism Commission. "Our streets will be filled with troops, political speeches on the steps of the Lafayette County Courthouse, gunshots echoing through the heart of Lexington, and ladies in full period dress. Our preserved main streets and historical districts provide the perfect backdrop."

Lexington's Municipal Auditorium, The Lex, will be offering a fall farmers market with locally grown fresh apples and other produce, as the Lexington region is one of the state's largest produce growing regions.

Spirit of the Civil War is an all-day event, free-of-charge. More information is available and tickets for the Haunted Anderson House Hospital Tour can be purchased online at www.spirit.visitlexingtonmo.com.



Coca-Cola Collectors to convene in Branson

The rooms will be filled with Coca-Cola advertising at the Fall Fever in the Ozarks event Nov. 3 in Branson. (photo courtesy Coca-Cola Collectors Club)

The Green Country of Oklahoma Chapter of the Coca-Cola Collectors Club is sponsoring the 9th "Fall Fever in the Ozarks" event in Branson on Saturday, Nov. 3, with a swap meet from 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. The event will be at the Stonecastle Resort & Conference Center, 3050 Green Mountain Dr. in Branson. There will be 54 tables with filled old and new Coca-Cola items. 
Admission is free and open to the public. 

The chapter was formed in 1996 to promote and preserve the advertising of the Coca-Cola Company. It held its first exposition in 2003. Meetings are held in the Tulsa, OK area with members not only from Oklahoma but also from Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and a few other states. Members of the national club as well as other chapters will participate in a welcome party and silent auction on nights before the swap meet as well as a farewell banquet and entertainment on Saturday night.



Back to the top


Balloons to ascend over Columbus

Colorful hot-air balloons take to the skies around Columbus the weekend of Oct. 5-7. (photo courtesy Columbus Balloon Festival)

Over the weekend of Oct. 5-7 the skies and fields around Columbus will come alive with color as the annual Columbus Day Balloon Festival returns.

The Columbus Day Festival's own Hot Air Balloon Regatta is part of the fastest growing festival in Southeast Kansas. Twenty balloons from all over the area will decorate the October sky. Beginning with a balloon glow on Friday evening, then followed by three regattas over the weekend (weather permitting), the event has become the Columbus Day Festival's main attraction.

The event begins with a spectacular balloon glow on Friday evening. The light of the powerful propane burners illuminates the envelopes creating a huge display of color. Balloon glows have become one of the most popular spectacles of hot air balloon events everywhere.

Then, on Saturday morning, the first Hare & Hound race between balloons takes off from the Industrial Park. Another race follows later in the day amid the festivities, and the last regatta takes place on Sunday.

In addition, a host of other activities will take place including a parade, bake sale, car show, art show and much more. For details check the website, www.columbusdayballoons.com.



Get ready for the Sugar Mound Arts & Crafts Festival

Smiles will be evident in Mound City during the annual Sugar Mound Arts and Crafts Festival. (photo courtesy Sugar Mound Arts & Crafts Festival)

The Linn County Fairgrounds will come alive over the weekend of Oct. 13-14 as the 48th Annual Sugar Mound Arts & Crafts Festival returns to Mound City. The festival was originated in 1971 to celebrate the fall colors in the town's many sugar maple trees.

More than 400 crafters are expected to vend their wares. Activities run 9 a.m.-6 p.m. on Saturday and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on Sunday. Saturday's parade begins at 10 a.m. Plenty of tempting foods will be available to whet your appetite.

In the 47 years since that first festival, the Sugar Mound Arts and Crafts Festival has gone from displaying art work by Linn County artists to hundreds of artists and crafters coming from Oklahoma, Arkansas, Nebraska and Colorado.

More information is available at the website, www.sugarmoundartscrafts.com.



Neewollah Diamond Jubilee marks 60 years running

Lee Greenwood is the headliner at this year's Neewollah Diamond Jubilee in Independence. He appears on Oct. 27. (photo courtesy Neewollah Diamond Jubilee)

This year is the 100th year since its inception and the 60th anniversary of the current format, so come celebrate the Neewollah Diamond Jubilee with the Addams Family Musical and more, including a pageant, parades, marching band contest, carnival, medallion hunt, chili cook-off, 5/10K & fun run/walk, and more. For example, how about a live appearance by country star Lee Greenwood? He appears at 8 p.m. on Oct. 27, the final night of the fest in Independence.

Wondering about the name? Look at it backwards. That's right, Neewollah is Halloween backwards, and this festival began in 1919 as an effort to provide fun and positive activities for residents of Independence to enjoy in place of pranks traditionally occurring around Halloween.

It continued until it was interrupted by the Great Depression and World War II, but it was revived and enhanced in 1958 as a three-day festival, and has continued to grow since. It's now a 10-day celebration filled with fun for all ages, so come on down and enjoy.

For the full schedule check the website, www.neewollah.com.



Council Grove to host regional artists at 'Gathering in the Grove'

For three days each autumn, the hills are alive with an impressive array of regional art in Council Grove. "Gathering in the Grove", the annual juried art show and sale celebrates the work of talented artists and craftsmen from across the Kansas Flint Hills. Activities run the weekend of Nov. 2-4.

Featured art includes photography, watercolors, oils, jewelry, textiles, stained glass, ceramics, and more. The show venue is the historic Carnegie Library, 303 W. Main St., where art pieces are exhibited alongside antiques, in a cozy gallery setting.

Refreshments and live music flavors the three-day show and sale. On Saturday, the event coincides with Candlelight Charm, a festive evening shopping tradition in lively, art-loving Council Grove. The stores will be open late, and you can take a horse-drawn carriage ride through the downtown area, as well.

This year, in addition to a raffle to win a piece of art, for the first time there will be a silent auction to win a lovely dinner in an historic home, for you and seven friends. The meal will include cocktails and dessert, and the menu will be designed by you and Jan, your hostess. The bidding will start at $200, and the winners of both the raffle and the silent auction will be chosen when the show ends.

Find more details at the website, www.gatheringinthegrove.com



Back to the top


Women Artists of the West hold 48th annual show in Bartlesville

This oil painting by Carol Amos, 'Cactus and Sweet Bush', will be featured in the Women Artists of the West show at the Price Tower in Bartlesville. (photo courtesy Women Artists of the West)

"Well I've never been to heaven, but I've been to Oklahoma." So sings Hoyt Axton, and if you have never been to Oklahoma, it is time to pack your boots and get ready for this special art event held at the world famous Price Tower Arts Center in Bartlesville through Nov. 4.

Price Tower is a 19-story landmark completed in 1956 by architect Frank Lloyd Wright. The ongoing mission of Price Tower is to inspire artists and audiences, and to celebrate art, architecture, and design. Only 40 minutes north of Tulsa, Bartlesville is the place to experience it all; a vibrant arts center, world-class museums and the only realized skyscraper designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

"WAOW is proud to hold their 48th National Juried Exhibition in this historic gallery," said Burneta Venosdel, show chair.

Women Artists of the West (WAOW), is the oldest juried women's art organization in the country and is made up of and limited to 350 award winning professional women painters and sculptors. This non-profit group supports appreciation and promotion of the arts created by women. They achieve these goals by fostering technical excellence, professionalism and unity within the group.
Members meet strict criteria and must be juried into this prestigious organization, as well as the annual members' show. Originally focusing on Western themes, the art of this group now encompasses all genres and subject matter.

Cash awards and prizes amounting to $20,000 will be provided by WAOW sponsors.
For further information about the organization or this event please contact Venosdel, show chair at 918-868-6070, or visit the website www.waow.org


Back to the top

Submissions wanted!

Tell us what?s happening in your area. Our readers want to know. Discover Vintage America welcomes news on festivals, antique and craft shows, historical related events, art sows, shop/mall anniversaries and new openings, and ownership changes, and events that attract folks to the rich history of America. Press releaes and photos are welcome. Email editor@discoverypub.com, fax at 816-474-1427 or find us on Facebook.